Finding My Voice

I’ve always thought about blogs much the way I’ve though about Christmas letters that tell what every family member has been doing for the past year – no thanks.

But since I leave Monday for Gaza, to work for several months as a volunteer at a community mental health centre, the opportunity to let others know what life is like for 1.6 million Palestinians living under occupation is too good to pass up so I am tip toeing (awkwardly as you will see) into the world of  blogs and twitter and Facebook. My hope is to send a blog weekly, letting friends, family and whoever else is following the situation in Gaza know what I am hearing, seeing and thinking – well, maybe not the thinking part since I need to keep polities out of the equation …if I want to stay in the country.

I was going to put a photo of me leaving home but I can’t figure out how to do that just yet – so here’s a photo of my Nova Scotia Duck Tolling Retriever Minnie – just to add a bit of colour to my first blog.

Leave a Reply

